Indo-German Science & Technology Centre (IGSTC) sponsored, bi-lateral workshop on “Securing sustainable treatment for drinking water production and water recycling with focus on anionic contaminants: SuWaRec”

Three-days workshop was organized by the Department of Hydrology, IIT Roorkee in collaboration with Technische Universität Hamburg (TUHH), Germany during 20-22 July 2022 at TUHH, Germany, with the support from Indo-German Science & Technology Centre (IGSTC).

The programmed was inaugurated by Prof. Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi (Director, IIT Roorkee), Mr. Rajachandran Madhan (Director, IGSTC) and Prof. Dr –Ing. Andreas Timm-Giel (Head of the Institute of Communication Networks, TUHH) followed by welcome note by Prof. Brijesh Kumar Yadav, Head of Hydrology Department, IIT Roorkee, India.

During the bi-lateral workshop, a total of 34 experts from India and Germany delivered their talks on different aspects of advanced water treatment technologies. The Indian team comprises of 14 experts from nine different academic institutions (13 persons) and 1 expert from Indian industry. The participants include faculty members, scientists, working professionals, and early career researchers. The workshop was attended by the students/researchers from German universities.

The speakers had expertise in different fields such as water/wastewater treatment, membrane-based separation processes, hybrid and Adsorption processes, modeling, machine learning, etc.

Indian researchers were from IIT Roorkee, IIT Indore, IISc Bangalore, NIT Durgapur, Manipur University, Mizoram University, Doon University, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies (UPES), and Aligarh Muslim University (AMU).

Omkrown Pharmachem Pvt Ltd., Karnataka was the Indian Industry.

German researchers were from TUHH, Institute of Membrane Research, Institute of Wastewater Management and Water Protection Resources Oriented Sanitation, GEH Wasserchemie GmbH & Co, Berliner Wasserbetriebe, TIA Technologien zur Industrieabwasserbehandlung GmbH, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf.