About Us

Who made it possible

Indian Institute of Technology - Roorkee

IIT Roorkee img

Indian Institute of Technology - Roorkee is among the foremost institutes of national importance in higher technological education and in engineering, basic and applied research. Since its establishment, the Institute has played a vital role in providing the technical manpower and know-how to the country and in pursuit of research. The Institute ranks amongst the best technological institutions in the world and has contributed to all sectors of technological development. It has also been considered a trend-setter in the area of education and research in the field of science, technology, and engineering.

The Institute had celebrated its Sesquicentennial in October 1996 and now completed more than 170 years of its existence. It was converted to IIT on September 21, 2001 by an Ordinance issued by the Government of India declaring it as the nation’s seventh Indian Institute of Technology, an “Institution of National Importance”.

Department of Hydrology, IIT Roorkee

The Department of Hydrology came into existence with the inception of the International Post Graduate Course in Hydrology in 1972, the first such programme in a developing country. The Government of India and UNESCO presently sponsors the courses offered by the Department. The Department has nine dedicated full-time faculty members specialising in surface water hydrology (Floods, Droughts), water resources systems, watershed management, Geo-hydrology, groundwater geophysics, stochastic hydrology, hydro-informatics, environmental hydrology, atmospheric physics, climate change, Remote Sensing and GIS Applications etc.

University of Potsdam

Uni. of Postdam img

The University of Potsdam is a public university in Potsdam, capital of the state of Brandenburg, Germany. It is mainly situated across three campuses in the city. Some faculty buildings are part of the New Palace of Sanssouci which is known for its UNESCO World Heritage status. The University of Potsdam is Brandenburg's largest university and the fourth largest in the Berlin-Brandenburg metropolitan area. More than 8,000 people are working in scholarship and science.

In 2009 the University of Potsdam became a winner in the "Excellence in Teaching" initiative of the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Business innovation agency for the German science system). It was formed in 1991 by the amalgamation of the Karl Liebknecht College of Education and the Brandenburg State College, as well as several other smaller institutions. As the university in large part emerged from the College of Education, emphasis today is still placed on teacher training.

Organizing committee


Prof. Ankit Agarwal

Department of Hydrology, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Office: +91-133228-4927
Email: ankit.agarwal@hy.iitr.ac.in
Website: https://www.iitr.ac.in/~HY/Ankit_Agarwal

Visiting Scientist at GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Germany
Website: https://www.pik-potsdam.de/members/agarwal

Organizing secretaries

Prof. Ashutosh Sharma

Department of Hydrology, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Email: ashutosh.sharma@hy.iitr.ac.in

Organizing secretaries

Dr. Sangeeta Verma

Project Coordinator
Department of Hydrology, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Email: coprepare.coordinator@iitr.ac.in

Who Helped us Sponsored and Organized By