Loading...

UDAN Lecture

UDAN (Understanding the DynAmics of the Natural Hazards in the Himalayas) Lecture Series

  1. "Emerging eco-climatic hazards in the Himalayas" by Prof. Jagdish Krishnaswamy | November 13, 2020 | invitation
  2. "How debris damages dams - and why we need geomorphology in hydropower safety assessment" by Dr. Wolfgang Schwanghart | December 4, 2020 | invitation
  3. "Climate of the Himalayas" by Prof. A.P. Dimri | January 22, 2021 | invitation
  4. "Climate-change impact on Himalayan hydrology: Recent advances and future challenges in understanding Asia's water towers" by Prof. Walter W. Immerzeel | February 19, 2021 at 2:00 (IST) | invitation
  5. "Glacial lake outburst floods: anatomy, impacts, and disaster risk reduction" by Dr. Matt Westoby | April 9, 2021 at 1:00 (IST) | invitation
  6. "The hum of an active Earth surface: insight to hazardous mass wasting events from seismic sensors" by Dr. Michael Dietze | June 11, 2021 at 2:00 (IST) | invitation
  7. "Social dimensions of adaptation/resilience in mountain areas" by Prof. Dr. Marcus Nüsser | August 27, 2021 at 2:00 pm (IST) | invitation
  8. "Indian Western Himalaya - climate changing world" by Prof. Pawan K. Joshi | Thursday, 23 September 2021 at 2:00 pm (IST) | invitation
  9. "Climate Meets Complex Systems" by Prof. Dr. H.C Mult. Jurgen Kurths
  10. "Flash-Floods: more often, more severe, more damaging? An analysis of hydro-geo-environmental conditions and anthropogenic impacts" by Prof. Dr. Axel Bronstert
  11. "Predictive understanding of extreme precipitation over the Hindu Kush Himalayas in a warming world" by Dr. R. Krishnan
  12. "Adaptation and Sustainable Development Goals in the Upper Ganges" By Dr. Eddy Moors, Rector, IHE Delft, Netherlands, Professor of Water and Climate, VU University
  13. "Cascading Effects of Climate Change in the Himalayas: Implications for People and Policies" by By Ulka Kelkar, Director – Climate, WRI India
  14. "Understanding the Dynamics of the Natural Hazards in the Himalayas" by Prof. Dr. Michael Krautblatter | Friday, 3 December 2021 at 10:00 am (Berlin), 2:30 pm (Delhi) | CV | invitation
  15. "Earthquake risk in the Himalayas" by Prof. Dr. Max Wyss | Friday, February 25, 2022 at 10:30 am (Berlin), 3:00 pm (Delhi) | CV | invitation
  16. "Eco-village: A model for integrating climate and disaster risks at village/local level planning in Himachal Pradesh" by Somya Bhatt | Thursday, March 24, 2022 at 9:30 am (Berlin), 2:00 pm (Delhi) | CV | Abstract | invitation
  17. "Gendered vulnerability and adaptation to climate change" by Chanda Gurung Goodrich | Friday, May 13, 2022 at 10:30 am (Berlin), 2:00 pm (Delhi), 2:15pm (Kathmandu) | CV | Abstract | invitation

To join the lecture series, please register.

The previous UDAN lectures are now available at the official YouTube channel of IIT Roorkee.

Lecture - 01
Lecture - 02
Lecture - 03
Lecture - 04
Lecture - 05
Lecture - 06
Lecture - 07
Lecture - 08
Lecture - 09
Lecture - 10
Lecture - 11
Lecture - 12
Lecture - 13
Lecture - 14
Lecture - 15
Lecture - 16
Lecture - 17